## Village of Iola Regular Meeting December 4, 2023 6:30 P.M. Meeting called to order by Mayor Michael Butts Trustees attended: Absent Beth Jones Joe Thomson Ron Strackijohn Kevin Horath Michael Bryant Chris Scott Village Clerk Carol Oestreich and Treasurer Elise Budde Present

Minutes were read from the November 6th regular meeting. Motion for approval was made by Micheal Bryant and  $2^{nd}$  Joe Thomson .

Treasurer report was presented and passed around. Motion to approve was made by Chris Scott and Kevin Horath  $2^{nd}$ .

## **Old Business**

Reviewed the Draft from the attorney for the new nuisance property ordinance . After discussion, it was decided to keep it as it was prepared and request a copy for approval at the next meeting.

The pump house door is completed and it was decided to keep the thermostat on the lowest to save on electricity.

## **New Business**

Fraud risk papers were completed by all the trustees present for the auditors.

Schedule of 2024 board meetings ordinance was presented .Motion was made by Michael Bryant and Joe Thomson 2<sup>nd</sup>.

A bid was presented by Lee Chaney for rewiring the electrical in the gym for a grant . Motion was made by Joe Thomson and  $2^{nd}$  by Kevin Horath.

Clerk presented the bids collected for the heating/cooling unit.and rewiring electric to run the unit f or the grant. The federal grant will cover 55% of the project and the Village would be responsible for the remaining. And it was decide that we would get a loan to pay the Village portion. Its possible for a state grant to cover 15%. Clerk will check into the state grant and report at next meeting.

Christine Hanks has expressed interest of Road Commissioner for he Village. Motion was made by Joe Thomson and 2<sup>nd</sup> Kevin Horath.

Discussion regarding placing a soda /snack machine in front of the Civic Center. All were in favor for Ron Stracklejohn to check into that.

Clerk announce that Bob Stone was the winner of the Thanksgiving Turkey.

Pay monthly bills motion by Chris Scott and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Kevin Horath.

Motion to adjourn was made by Michael Bryant and Chris Scott 2<sup>nd</sup>.

Village Clerk

Carol Oestreich